Alan Gilbert conducts Tchaikovsky, Lindberg and Ravel — With the New York Philharmonic and Evgeny Kissin

Carnegie Hall opens its 125th anniversary season with a thrilling evening of classical works and a world premiere performed by the fantastic New York Philharmonic and piano virtuoso Evgeny Kissin under the baton of Alan Gilbert.

This concert is available at 5pm on 3 July through our subscription. Select 'Newcastle Public Library' then log in with your library card number. This concert will remain online for later viewing.


  • Traditional / Igor Stravinsky, The Star-Spangled Banner
  • Magnus Lindberg, Vivo (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, Op. 23
    • 1. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso – Allegro con spirito
    • 2. Andantino semplice – Prestissimo
    • 3. Allegro con fuoco
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, 18 Pieces, Op. 72
    • No. 5: Méditation
  • Maurice Ravel, Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No. 2
    • 1. Lever du jour

  • 15 Laman Street
  • 03 July 2020